Hong Kong Tag announces first-ever international squad

August 30, 2018


Following weeks of competitive trials, Hong Kong Tag (HKTag) has announced the final 20-player squad set to take part in the 2018 World Cup in Australia, held between the 1st and 4th of November.


The mixed team will join the men's squad, who are already training out of Sydney, as Hong Kong Tag's first-ever representatives in an international tag rugby competition- an incredible landmark for all involved. 


Managed by Winnie Wong and coached by the duo of James Elliot and Hong Kong Thunder Captain Ringo Lung, the mixed side is comprised predominantly of Hong Kong-based players, in itself a testament to the growth and popularity of the domestic game. 


Neville Metcalfe, Chairman of HKTag, expressed his excitement at how Tag Rugby has progressed since becoming formally organised in 2015. 


"Tag rugby continues to go from strength to strength in Hong Kong and we are incredibly proud to send two teams to the Tag 2018 World Cup, just three short years after launching the sport here," said Metcalfe.


"Our focus on the mixed game format is what differentiated usfrom the very start, enabling us to bring together a competitive mixed tag team for November." 


The last Tag World Cup took place in 2015 on the Sunshine Coast in Australia and attracted a record 168 teams, with more than 3,300 players taking part.


The eventual winners – Coffs Harbour – will now play host to the 2018 edition.



Full squad: 




Ellie Chung, Sean Cowley (T8 Unicorns), Zac Dickinson (Tag Buffaloos, Bacchus), Raci Kwong (Kam Shan Monkeys), Lukas Lai (Tag Buffaloos), Carman Law (Toy Story), Shirley Leung (Kam Shan Monkeys), Cassandra Lim (Tag Buffaloos), Jonathan Mo (Toy Story), Brett Morris (Tag Buffaloos), Chris Ng (Wan Chai Warriors), Megan So (AIS Hashtags), Gus Spence (Tag Buffaloos), Andrew Tasker (Tag Buffaloos, Bacchus), Damien Vatin (Tag Buffaloos), Ashley Wayburne (Tag Buffaloos, Bacchus), Michael Wong (AIS Hashtags), Victoria Wong (AIS Hashtags), Emily Yip (Kam Shan Monkeys), Flora Yuen (Wayfoong)  



Patrick Anusrideacha, Roy Chan, Bernard Chau, Aaron Coelho, Vincent Fong, Patrick Lai, Keith Lee, Wilson Lee, Bryan Lee, Jason Liu, Chris Mok, Kevin Ng, Edwin Teng, Michael Wong, Terry Wong, Bronson Wong



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts