51st Prudential New Year's Day Youth Tournament round-up

January 2, 2018


As per tradition, supporters of Hong Kong rugby converged on the Hong Kong Football Club yesterday to mark the beginning of the new year with the 51st Prudential New Year's Day Tournament.


Since its inception in 1967, the tournament has provided a platform for upcoming players of all backgrounds to showcase their abilities, gifting those in attendance an exciting glimpse into the future of Hong Kong rugby while serving up a feast of quality rugby.


This year proved no exception, with an abundance of aggression and skill across the nine fixtures spanning age groups from the U-12s to the U-19s. 


Best and fairest award winners include Juliette Robinson (U-12 Girls Lions), Trent Rossouw (U-12 Boys Dragons), Sarah McPherson (U-14 Girls Lions), Joseph Galea (U-14 Boys Dragons), Blaise Kingan (U-16 Girls Lions), Toby Jurecka (U-16 Boys Dragons), Lara Schats (U-19 Girls Lions), Alan Au (U-19 Warriors) and Thaddeus Summers (U-19 Boys), who was also named Player of the Tournament and awarded the Larry Abel Trophy. 


Full results:


Ladies U12 Roberts Shield
Island Lions 43 - 5 Peninsula Dragons


Boys U12 Waterford Bowl
Island Lions 5 - 25 Peninsula Dragons


Ladies U14 Overton Cup
Lions 17 -12 Dragons


Boys U14 Stuart Leckie Cup
Lions 17 - 27 Dragons


Ladies U16 Naylor Cup
Lions 32 - 19 Dragons


Boys U16 George White Trophy
Overseas Lions 17 -33 Hong Kong Dragons


Ladies U19 Lassies’ Quaich

Overseas Lions 0 - 47 Hong Kong Dragons


Boys U19 Warriors Jin Si Trophy
Island Lions 5 - 27 Peninsula Dragons


Boys U19 Naylor Wright Cup/Middlesex Cup
Overseas Lions 19 - 17 Hong Kong Dragons


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts